/ Modified nov 8, 2014 6:50 a.m.

METRO WEEK: Analyzing Election Results, Voter Behavior

Journalists' Roundtable assesses turnout, margins in state's congressional contests.

Republican Martha McSally still has the lead in Congressional District 2, but the lead is so slim, the race remains too close to call.

On Thursday night, she was ahead by 363 votes. By mid-day Friday, her lead had grown to 772, after more ballots were tabulated in Cochise County. At the end of the day, her lead was 317, with about 14,000 ballots left to count in Pima and Cochise counties. Counting in Pima County will continue through the weekend, officials said Friday.

When those votes are counted, the race could stay close, as it has in past years.

Barber won the race two years ago by less than 1 percentage point. A recount is required if the margin of victory in this district ends up at less than 200 votes. That would not be triggered until every ballot cast in the district is counted.

Congressional District 1 had a wider margin of victory than some polls predicted, and Democratic Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick had a clear victory of Republican Andy Tobin by Wednesday morning.

Turnout was low in Congressional District 3, where incumbent Democratic Rep. Raúl Grijalva won his seventh term in office against second-time challenger Republican Gabby Saucedo Mercer.

Border Crisis
For more coverage of the 2014 Elections,
please click here.
Read More
By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona