/ Modified dec 2, 2015 9:02 a.m.

Attack-Ad Funders from 2010 Attorney General's Race Named

Democratic campaign group that ran ads against Tom Horne in the 2010 attorney general's race.

tom horne spot One-time Arizona Superintendent of Public Instruction, and former Attorney General, Tom Horne.


A Democratic campaign group that ran ads against Tom Horne in the 2010 attorney general's race disclosed its contributors to the Secretary of State's Office.

The disclosure ends a five-year legal battle for information on who funded the opposition campaign called the Committee for Justice and Fairness.

An appeals court said the committee’s ads attacking then-candidate Tom Horne were not exempt from laws requiring campaign finance disclosures. The state Supreme Court upheld that opinion in April.

In November, the Maricopa County Attorney's office announced an effort to bring a contempt citation against the committee.

State campaign finance reports show the Committee for Justice and Fairness received about $942,000 from the Democratic Attorneys General Association in 2010. It spent nearly $800,000 of the money on attack ads against Republican Tom Horne during his campaign for attorney general. The committee owes several fines for filing its reports late.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona