/ Modified aug 31, 2016 11:25 a.m.

Southern Arizona Legislative Races: Most Incumbents Prevail

A rundown of the early results for the region's House races.

AZ legislative map 2012 spotlight Arizona legislative districts, as drawn by the Independent Redistricting Commission in 2011. (PHOTO: Independent Redistricting Commission)

Competition was scarce in Tuesday's primary election for seats in Southern Arizona's seven state legislative districts.

Here’s a breakdown of results for the region's House races, in which the top two are nominated for the general election ballot:

  • District 2, covering southeastern Tucson, the city of South Tucson, Sahuarita, Green Valley and all of Santa Cruz Count, has a three-way Democratic race. According to early results, incumbent Democrat Rosanna Gabaldón led with 37 percent, while Sunnyside School District Board member Daniel Hernandez Jr. had 34 percent of votes and recent law school graduate Aaron Baumann recorded 29 percent.

  • District 9 covers part of central Tucson and the Catalina Foothills, Flowing Wells and Casas Adobes neighborhoods. Democratic incumbent Randy Friese took the most votes with 42, while Pamela Powers Hannley's 33 percent was edged out incumbent Matt Kopec, with 25 percent.

  • District 10 runs from from east of the University of Arizona to the northern and eastern boundaries of Davis-Monthan Air Force Base and the edges of Saguaro National Park and the Coronado National Forest. Incumbent Democrat Stefanie Mach led with 36 percent while challengers Kirsten Engel and Courtney Frogge took 33 and 31 percent, respectively.

  • District 14, covering all of Graham, Greenlee and Cochise counties and part of eastern Pima County, featured four newcomers in the Republican primary. Becky Nutt won that race with 34 percent followed by Graham County Supervisor Drew John with 31 percent and and engineer Anthony Sizer with 22 percent.

Your Vote 2016
For complete election coverage for Arizona and beyond, visit the Your Vote 2016 Election Center.
Read More
By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona