/ Modified nov 4, 2010 9:38 a.m.

Russell Pearce Elevated To Arizona Senate President

Mesa Republican chosen by Republican senators-elect, Kirk Adams retained as House Speaker.

The next Arizona Senate President will be Russell Pearce. Republicans chose him Wednesday in a closed-door caucus to decide leadership in both legislative chambers. Pearce will preside over the Senate, and hold a considerable amount of power over legislation, scheduling and committees. Pearce was victorious over two rivals for the presidency. He's curently the chairman of the Appropriations Committee. House Republicans also voted to keep Mesa Republican Kirk Adams as House speaker.

The newly selected leaders will enter office in January, at the start of the 2011 regular legislative session.

Pearce was the primary sponsor of Senate Bill 1070. He also sponsored a 2007 law that restricts businesses from knowingly hiring illegal immigrants. Both laws are currently tied up with court challenges.

On Tuesday, Republicans added three more seats to their majority in the Arizona Senate. They now have 21 seats in the 30 member body. In the 60-member House, the GOP added two seats to their current 35-seat majority. That could make Republican legislation almost veto-proof, particularly with Republican Governor Jan Brewer winning a full term Tuesday.


Arizona's new Senate President, Russell Pearce


Rep. Kirk Adams was chosen again to be House speaker.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona