NPR Inaugural Celebration

We Are One: The Obama Inaugural Celebration at The Lincoln Memorial" is a free public event on Sunday, January 18, 2009.

NPR Music will present the entire event, which is set to include musical performances by the biggest names in the industry, and historical readings from actors and notable Americans. President-elect Barack Obama is scheduled to participate in the event; both his family and the family of Vice President-elect Joseph Biden will attend, joining an audience of potentially 750,000.

Scheduled performers include:

  • Beyonce
  • Mary J. Blige
  • Bono
  • Garth Brooks
  • Sheryl Crow
  • Renee Fleming
  • Josh Groban
  • Herbie Hancock
  • Heather Headley
  • John Legend
  • Jennifer Nettles
  • John Mellencamp
  • Usher Raymond IV
  • Shakira
  • Bruce Springsteen
  • James Taylor
  • Stevie Wonder

Additional performers will be announced as they are confirmed

Wait, Wait, Don't Tell Me will move to 3:00 p.m. To the Best of Our Knowledge, and Fresh Air Weekend will be pre-empted.