Download as MP3

State health officials are accepting applications to operate medical marijuana dispensaries. The voter-approved Arizona Medical Marijuana Act allows the state to have up to 126 dispensaries, but the application process had been slowed by lawsuits and rule making. Several requirements that caused concerns for potential applicants have been removed, including eliminating a prior bankruptcy as a disqualifying factor.

“There’s a $5,000 application fee that need to be submitted with the application," says Harmony Duport of the Arizona Department of Health Services. "They’re also required to submit business plans and bylaws, attestations, documentation from the local jurisdiction stating that the proposed dispensary address is in an area where there’s no zoning restrictions that would prevent them from applying or operation a dispensary at that location.”

Applicants not awarded a dispensary will receive a $1,000 refund of the application fee, but only if all of the proper paperwork was submitted on time, says Duport, AZDHS Chief of the Office of Inspection and Compliance.

The application deadline is 5 p.m., May 25th.