/ Modified oct 29, 2013 4:44 p.m.

Mail Tucson Election Ballots By Thursday, City Suggests

Those who don't get to send out ballots by Oct. 31 may drop them off at one of the voting locations by Nov. 5.

The city of Tucson suggests voters should mail their ballots by Oct. 31 to ensure they're received by 7 p.m. on Nov. 5, a press release from the City Clerk's Office said.

Those who don't get to mail their ballots by Thursday may drop them off at one of the voting locations by Election Day at 7 p.m.

Voters will be deciding on two City Council seats and two initiatives.

Councilmember Karin Uhlich is running for a third term in Ward 3, and is challenged by Republican Ben Buehler-Garcia, who narrowly lost to the Democratic incumbent in 2009. Councilmember Richard Fimbres, who's currently in his first term in Ward 5, seeks re-election against GOP newcomer Mike Polak.

Democratic Councilmember Steve Kozachik is running unopposed for a second term in Ward 6.

Voters will also decide on two propositions: one regarding the city's general plan and the other proposing a permanent increase to the city's budget base expenditure limit.

This year's city elections were entirely by mail.

Ballots were sent out Oct. 17.

For a list of voting locations click here.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona