/ Modified aug 1, 2014 2:12 p.m.

AZ Week: A Look at This Year's Statewide Elections

Seats in Arizona's executive branch, Legislature, congressional delegation, local school boards up for grabs; primary election approaching.


Journalists Robert Robb from the Arizona Republic, Jim Nintzel from the Tucson Weekly and Arizona Public Media's Christopher Conover join host Lorraine Rivera to discuss campaign trails so far, and what to expect these elections.

Seats in Arizona's executive branch, state Legislature, congressional delegation, in the Arizona Corporation Commission, and local school boards are up for grabs this year.

The gubernatorial race is the most competitive.

The Republican primary is crowded with seven candidates: Secretary of State Ken Bennett, Treasurer Doug Ducey, Christine Jones, former legal counsel to GoDaddy, former Mesa Mayor Scott Smith, former California Congressman Frank Riggs, former Maricopa County Attorney Andrew Thomas and Alice Lukasik, a write-in candidate.

Whoever wins will face off Fred DuVal, the only Democrat in the gubernatorial race, as well as two minor candidates, Libertarian Barry Hess and Americans Elect candidates John Lewis Mealer or Janelle Wood.

There are five other statewide races, including secretary of state and attorney general, as well as 90 legislative races.

On a federal level, Southern Arizona's Congressional Districts 1, 2, 3 Democratic incumbents are facing off a number of Republicans. CD 1 and 2 will be on high watch.

CD 1's U.S. Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick could be going up against state Rep. Adam Kwasman, state House Speaker Andy Tobin or rancher Gary Kiehne. In the CD 2 race, Martha McSally is back, and if she wins the Republican primary against Shelly Kais and Chuck Wooten, she'll be facing U.S. Rep Ron Barber. McSally, an Air Force veteran, lost to Barber by a narrow margin in the 2012 elections.

In six weeks, voters will be heading to the voting booths for the primary election, which is set for Aug. 26. The general election is in November.

Early voting begins July 31.

For more information about this year's elections, visit AZPM's Your Vote 2014 page.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona