/ Modified dec 7, 2015 10:06 a.m.

Tucson Mayor, Council Members Swearing In Monday

Three council members and mayor begin new terms as city fights election lawsuit

Tucson City Hall spotlight Tucson City Hall.
Andrea Kelly



Three City Council members and the mayor of Tucson will be sworn in Monday to serve their next four-year terms.

Four incumbent Democrats who won their re-election last month begin their new terms as the city faces two lawsuits about its election system.

Council members Regina Romero, Paul Cunningham and Shirley Scott beat their Republican challengers.

After the election, the Ninth U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals said the city’s election system is unconstitutional because it runs ward-only primaries and city-wide general elections.

The court said the city should make the primary and general elections the same and not switch methods during the election cycle. The city has appealed the ruling.

Separately, Republicans Kelly Lawton and Margaret Burkholder sued the city because of the Ninth Circuit ruling. The two say they should be on the council after they won the votes in their respective wards, although they lost in the city-wide vote tally.

In the meantime, the three re-elected council members and Mayor Jonathan Rothschild are being sworn in to their new terms at 10 a.m. Monday in City Council chambers.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona