/ Modified jul 7, 2022 6:06 p.m.

Biden awards Medal of Freedom to Giffords and McCain

The medal is the highest civilian award in the nation.

Giffords Medal of Freedom President Joe Biden awards Gabrielle Giffords the Presidential Medal of Freedom at the White House. July 7, 2022
White House Video Feed

President Joe Biden awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom to former Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords and the late Senator John McCain during a White House ceremony on Thursday.

Biden called Giffords one of the most courageous people he has ever known,

"She's the embodiment of the most significant American train, never give up," he said.

Biden also awarded a posthumous Medal of Freedom to the late Senator John McCain. He called McCain, who he served in the U.S. Senate with, a friend.

"We ran against each, which I didn't like, for the highest office in the land. I was a candidate for Vice President, he was a candidate for President. I never stopped admiring John. I never said a negative thing about him in my life because I knew his honor, his courage, his commitment," Biden said.

McCain's award was accepted by his wife, Ambassador Cindy McCain.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
AZPM is a service of the University of Arizona and our broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents who hold the trademarks for Arizona Public Media and AZPM. We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples.
The University of Arizona