/ Modified mar 8, 2023 9:58 p.m.

Governor forms election task force

Hobbs selected a bipartisan group of 18 people to serve.

360 capitol executive tower The Arizona State Capitol Executive Tower in Phoenix. January 2021.
AZPM Staff

Governor Katie Hobbs signed an executive order forming a Bipartisan Elections Task Force on Wednesday.

The 18-member panel includes members of the legislature as well as current and former election officials from across the state.

The members were chosen by the Governor, legislative leaders, and election experts.

Southern Arizona is represented by Pima County Recorder Gabriella Cazares-Kelly, former Pima County Elections Director Brad Nelson, and Santa Cruz County Elections Director Alma Schultz.

Others on the task force include Secretary of State Adrian Fontes (D), state Senator Ken Bennet (R),

In a statement, Hobbs said the task force will enhance both accessibility and security while providing an opportunity for engagement on election issues.

The task force is expected to present a report to the Governor by November.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
AZPM is a service of the University of Arizona and our broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents who hold the trademarks for Arizona Public Media and AZPM. We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples.
The University of Arizona