/ Modified aug 22, 2018 12:29 p.m.

Campaigns Underway for TUSD, SUSD Boards

Incumbents seek to defend their seats against challengers.

Teacher Pay Cover Image 360 Empty classroom full of chairs in Arizona
AZPM Staff

Campaigns are underway for school governing board positions in the Tucson area.

The Tucson Unified School District has two governing board members whose seats are up for election: Current board president Michael Hicks and long-time board member Adelita Grijalva.

Challenging the incumbents are Leila Counts, Adam Ragan and Douglas E. Robson.

Tucson Unified has three other seats that are not up for re-election. Those seats are filled by Kristel Ann Foster, Rachael Sedgwick and Mark Stegeman.

The Sunnyside Unified School District has two seats up for election this year. Incumbent Eva Carillo Dong is running for re-election.

Board member Daniel Hernandez has chosen not to run for re-elections for next years school governing board.

Hernandez also serves as a Democratic house member in the state legislature for district two.

The other two candidates are Consuelo Hernandez Jr. and Gabriel Morales.

SUSD has three other seats that are not up for re-election this year. Those are filled by board president Buck Crouch, Beki Quintero and Roberto S. Jaramillo.

Early voting starts Oct. 10 for the Nov. 6 general election.

All candidates have exceeded the number of petition signatures needed to run in Tucson's largest school district by 100 or more.

Newly elected members will be submitted to the Arizona School Board Association by Dec. 6 by the county school's superintendent

Correction: This story was corrected on Aug. 22, 2018 to identify the incumbent candidate.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona