/ Modified nov 7, 2020 3:26 p.m.

2 Republicans, 1 Democrat elected Arizona utility regulators

Democrats picked up a seat on the Arizona Corporation Commission, which will have a 3-2 Republican majority.

PHOENIX — Two Republicans and one Democrat have won their races in the little-watched battle for control of Arizona’s utility regulatory commission.

Current Arizona Corporation Commission member Lea Marquez Peterson and retired finance industry professional Jim O’Connor are the Republicans. The Democrat is current Tolleson mayor and former state senator Anna Tovar.

Democrats fell short of gaining control of the commission. It is currently controlled 4-1 by Republicans and they will have a 3-2 majority when the new terms beginning in January. Democrats had hoped to help turn the state toward more renewable energy and boost scrutiny of rate increases sought by regulated electric utilities.

Learn more about the ACC race and candidate platforms here.

Your Vote 2020
Read more coverage of national, Arizona, and local elections at our 2020 elections portal, Your Vote 2020.
By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
AZPM is a service of the University of Arizona and our broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents who hold the trademarks for Arizona Public Media and AZPM. We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples.
The University of Arizona